smulitfest2015

Writing Encouragement from Peter Turchi

First, Please Yourself

By Peter Turchi
JANUARY 19, 2015

I started composing fiction almost as soon as I could read. What kept me going wasn’t so much advice as encouragement, and I was fortunate to get a good bit of that from any number of generous, thoughtful people. But there is a particular declaration about writing that has resonated with me for decades.

During my first or second year of college, I was introduced to the work of the great Argentinian poet and fiction writer Jorge Luis Borges. The first story of his that captured my imagination was “Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius.” I remember wandering the stacks of the college library and coming across his then-recent story collection,The Book of Sand. In the introduction to that book, he says, “I write for myself and for my friends, and I write to ease the passing of time.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2015 by .
