smulitfest2015

Peter Turchi on Power Plays

Power Plays

“Fiction that recognizes the different forms power can take more accurately mirrors the complexity of life”: Peter Turchi on how power dynamics can and should inform conflict in fiction.

Until recently, my wife and I lived in Arizona, where she played in a community orchestra. Many of the people who attended the orchestra concerts were related to one of the musicians in some way, and the rest tended to be older folks. I am in no way a youngster, but as I shuffled past the frail, elderly couple seated at the end of my row one night, the sheer contrast made me feel like a teenager. I sat down and, like a teenager, began fiddling with my phone—checking email, sending texts, all the usual. The woman beside me, who might have been in her early eighties, said in a surprisingly strong voice, “Can you get the score on that?”

Read More Here:  http://fictionwritersreview.com/essay/power-plays/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2015 by .
